koromp:

“Son, my greatest life lesson, you really wanna know?” said Andrew, the man sitting outside the coffee shop in response to my question. We met one quiet afternoon in Los Angeles. As I sat on the bench across the street I noticed he was sitting all alone for a while. He was staring into the street for some time, looking very pensive, so I decided to introduce myself. 

Andrew was from Montana. He was very calm, cool and collected. He moved subtly and sipped his coffee slow. During our conversation Andrew strongly emphasized the idea that pain, even though it may not feel like it at times, is actually a positive force. He explained that pain is what gives us permission to develop. Andrew answered my question “My greatest life lesson, my greatest life lesson was learning to use pain as medicine. To use pain to learn, grow and take your experiences in stride. Everything happens for a reason and ultimately all your experiences, positive or negative, will lead you to the path to find your truest self”.

Leave a Reply

