Flamingos

I hate zoos, I always did.



I’ve been taking these pictures during my 60 days trip in Africa, in a 4 days safari.

I wish this was the true reality. Sadly, I’ve been taking these photos in a zoo. And I say sadly because I find nothing more sad than wild animals forced to live in a cage. The beautiful snow leopard (not the mac os as many have probably thought…) king of the mountain’s top, kept like a cat in a small cage, boring himself to death. Here is a line from wikipedia:

“Snow leopards live between 3,000 and 5,500 metres (9,800 and 18,000 ft) above sea level in the rocky mountain ranges of Central and South Asia”.

And again:

“Snow leopards show several adaptations for living in a cold mountainous environment”.

It is not difficult to find out that this animal, living in a place that is 15 meters above the sea level and with a mediterranean climate, will kinda suffer. Just a tiny bit… Anyway, I feel that these animals are all conscious of living a shitty life. We have a desperate monkey, so bored to wait the day he will finally die without having been to Las Vegas, to beautiful lifeless flamingos, and finishing with a desperate and amazing gorilla with sad human eyes, who tried to attack me after I’ve been taking him a beautiful portrait. Shyness? I don’t know. Maybe… Or maybe it’s a sign I suck as a photographer… My girlfriend suggested that he saw in me one of his fellow creature. I still don’t understand if it’s a compliment (meaning that he felt that I wanted to be the dominant male and then decided a desperate attack to save his beloved woman from my monkey sex appeal), or if she meant that I look like him. It’s probably this last one… Yeah. But I like to think I scared him and he attacked me because otherwise he would have had his wife stolen…

I’d like to be serious again (for a little while at least) and ask you to never go to a zoo again. Animals are not meant to live in a cage. They suffer as much as we do. These pictures show how much lifeless they are. Think of you being them. What would I do in a cage for the rest of my life?

Just think.

Leave a Reply

